I'm a Physician Associate and I work in Haematology - Ask me anything

(Jamie Saunders) #1

I’m a Physician Associate working in central London. I work in Haematology, specifically haemto-oncology (which is all things blood cancer) but I also cover general haematology as well. Ask me anything…

(Lewis Potter) #2

Hey @jasaunders90 :wave:

I’ve not yet had the opportunity to work alongside a PA, so I’d be interested to hear what an average day for you currently involves, in terms of the tasks you carry out and how you work with the rest of the multidisciplinary teams?

Thanks

Lewis

(Jamie Saunders) #3

Hey @lewis, awesome question! And one I get asked relatively frequently…

My typical day starts at around 8.15am (although I was actually up at 5.30am). I don’t officially start work until 09.00, but through a combination of train timings and workload I get in to work early. I sit down at my desk, with a coffee and my bowl of cereal, and open up our ward handover list. I go through each patient and update their plans, chemotherapy regimens and antimicrobials. I check the handover email and add all new admission to our list. Then I remotely review all of the patients who were unwell from overnight via out electronic eNoting system. This is a vital part of my role as a PA…

1. Alleviating administrative tasks from our junior doctors
  2. Knowing all of our patients really well

As the PA, I am the continuity. Other than the Consultants, I’m the only member of the medical team who remains constant - everyone else changes every 3-6 months, depending on their role. The Registrars tend to ask/expect from me a rapid update from the overnight events when they get back from morning teaching at 09.00am.