Hey, I’m Lewis, the founder of Geeky Medics. Ask me anything [AMA] 🤔

(Lewis Potter) #1

I thought I couldn’t really continue to encourage others to participate in the ask me anything (AMA) thread without also taking part myself!

So, briefly, I’m Lewis Potter, a GP trainee and the founder of Geeky Medics. I started it over 8 years ago, whilst I was a medical student myself and I’ve continued to work on it ever since.

Feel free to ask me anything!

Cheers

L

(Max Jahanzad) #2

Hey Lewis,

I just want to say, you did an amazing job.

I was applying for PRES level 3 exam to obtain the Irish Medical Council registration and I study your website very carefully.
Thanks for your efforts

Regards
Max

(Lewis Potter) #3

Hi Max,

Thanks for the kind words, they mean a lot.

All the best with the studies!

Kind regards

Lewis

(Elle) #4

Hi Lewis,

You’ve done a great job. Thank you for starting Geeky Medics. I often look at GM’s clinical skills videos and clinical investigations guides.

I was just wondering what inspired you to start Geeky Medics? Also, how did you find time to build it alongside studying?

(Lewis Potter) #5

Hey Elle,

It’s great to hear you’ve used the site :slight_smile:

When I was a 4th-year medical student (2010), I struggled to find free high-quality clinical skills guides online. I eventually paid to access a resource and was disappointed that even this quality was low content.

I’d always been interested in technology, websites and video production, so I thought it’d be fun to try and make something useful in the medical education space. Ultimately, I wanted to be able to provide a resource that anyone could access for free.